Aside

“Daddy! Mommy! Pweeze! Me need yew!” The cry of my two-year old woke me up in the middle of the night. You have to understand, my Eli isn’t a light sleeper- it practically takes a hurricane to wake him up- so when I hear his cry for his parents at night, I know something is wrong. My sweet boy had gotten really sick, and in the short few seconds between the time I had heard him and the time I had gotten to him, he was crying so hard he was shaking. As I picked him up, he clung to me for dear life, it was like he hadn’t seen me in ages. With tears in his eyes and with the most pitiful voice he said, “Mommy, me sick.” As silly as it sounds, I felt like my heart was breaking for him. It physically hurt me to see one of my children truly hurting. If I could have taken whatever was ailing him at that moment upon myself so he could feel relief, I would have done it in a heart beat. You know what’s amazing? God feels the same way about us. In our moment of need, we can cry out to Him. Galatians 4:6 says, “And because ye are sons, God hath sent forth the Spirit of his Son into your hearts, crying, Abba, Father.” Abba Father in plain ol’ southern girl english means “Dearest Dad.” If our children cry for us and it pulls at our heart-strings, how much more do you think it pulls at God’s heart when He hears those He has chosen and set apart to be royal heirs of His kingdom call on Him? Matthew 7:11 says, “If ye then, being evil, know how to give good gifts unto your children, how much more shall your Father which is in heaven give good things to them that ask him?” God is still working like He did more than 2000 years ago. Just as He did for the disciples, He can still step out on the bow of your boat and speak to your storm, “Peace be still,” but only if we choose to call on Him. He has already carried the burden and paid the cost for all of our sin debt. Every “sin sickness” that comes our way was defeated in Pilot’s judgement hall where the scripture tells us that Jesus took stripes on His back for our healing. The key in all of this is that we have to take that first step on calling on Him. It’s as simple as ABC. A: Admit. Admit you are a sinner and that there is nothing that you could do to earn the unmerited, freely given grace and salvation of God. B: Believe. Believe that Jesus Christ is God’s son who was crucified, resurrected, and now sits at the right hand of the Father making intercession for you and for me. C: Confess. Confess to the world that Christ is your savior and that you now live for Him. Once you take those simple steps, you have free access to the throne room of heaven. At that moment, you become an adopted child of the King, and when you say, “Daddy, I need you,” He will come running. It doesn’t matter where you are, how dismal the situation my be, or how lonely you feel, in Matthew 28, Jesus says that He always be with us, even unto the ends of the earth. I urge each of you, no matter your situation, please cry out to your heavenly Father, for He will be there. If you read the steps to salvation and prayed within yourself to ask Christ into your heart,  let me be the first to welcome you to the family of God! Please email me, I would love to hear from you and send you some encouragement. melissa@laddfamilyministries.com

My Child’s Cry

Leave a Reply

