Date Night With Him

Standard

Words cannot express how much I absolutely love this time of year. I truly enjoy spending quality, peaceful time with my family during precious times like these. In between visits to different relatives homes on Thanksgiving day, Paul and I started to talk about that very topic- how wonderful it is to spend time with everyone we know. Then we drifted off to nostalgia-land and he asked the question, “Did you ever think when we began seeing each other nearly 10 years ago that we’d be here today? Married, raising a baby, ministering all across the country?” I replied, “I really didn’t know what to expect. It was my honest hope that we’d be here one day, but I didn’t know if or how we’d make it.” Then my hubby chuckled warmly and a sweet silence ensued. At that point my mind began to drift back off into a warm reflection of the years gone by in our relationship. I knew that we had made it to where we are today because we’ve spent years spending honest, face-to-face, quality time with each other, relying on God. We’ve never hid who we are from one another, I am who I am, and he is who he is. Sure there are often times that life can seem mundane, going through the same routine day in and day out, but then there are those special moments. Moments that are so precious and dear to my heart that remind me of why I fell in love with my husband to begin with. Sometimes I get flowers or a card just because, or maybe he’ll surprise me at work and bring me lunch, or he’ll call in a sitter and have dinner reservations all lined up for a date night. As a Christians we should be 100% head over heels in love with Jesus. Sure, just like in a marriage or a relationship, it seems like things in our walk with God can get stagnant or mundane, but do we do special things for God like we do for our loved ones we can “keep the love alive?” No, we can’t send Him flowers or take Him to dinner, but do we spend quality alone time with Him? Do we take Him to dinner by feasting on His word, and praying or maybe even just listening to Him and seeing what He has to say? When my husband and I got married, we said our vows and professed our love for one another in front of all our friends and family so everyone would know that I am his and he is mine. It’s the same thing with God; the day I got saved I walked down the aisle of an old country church, confessed my sin to Jesus, asked Him into my heart, and then I stood before the church and told everyone of my new found love for Him. But, just as in my relationship with my spouse, if I don’t tell God that I love Him or do things to show Him that I truly care for him, such as give tithes, offer up a sacrifice of praise, then that spark or desire that I have for Him can leave. In closing, I ask you, my sweet readers, that you spend quality time with the ones you love, especially Christ. Tell Him how much you love Him, show Him your affection with your tithes, offerings, and praises. Most of all don’t forget to get alone with Him and give Him thanks for all He has done because He is worthy.

In His Love,

  Mimi

About mimismomentoftruth

The Ladd Family is an anointed family ministry with strong christian roots. They began more than 35 years ago when John and Violet Ladd felt the call of God on their lives to travel singing and preaching the gospel with their children. Today, the family tradition carries on with their son Paul and his wife Melissa. Their testimony is one of God's faithfulness and the ability to use willing vessels to do the impossible. From instantaneous physical healings to salvation, God has been using them to move in a supernatural way all across the nation. With three Diamond Award nominations under their belt, their debut single, "Let Go," #1 on the Southern Gospel Times charts, and performances to thousands, God is raising them up as they continue to raise Him up.

Leave a Reply

