I Hate Weeding

Standard

In the Ladd household my husband has given me the official title of “Princess Green-Thumb.” He always picks on me about loving to garden and plant new flowers, but what can I say, it’s in my DNA! This past mother’s day he bought me lots of rose bushes to plant outside in the flower bed in our front yard, and let me tell you, I was so excited! I could not WAIT to plant them and start tending to them so that all their beauty could be on full display. The following day we made a little Home Depot run to get miracle grow, potting soil, and all of the extras we’d need to help make the environment right for my roses to grow. When we got home we mixed in the potting soil with the existing dirt, dug the holes for the flowers, added miracle grow, and then we planted those babies down. I tended to the flowers very faithfully for quite sometime, however, I found that the more unbearable the heat became, the less I would go outside and take the time to work them. Then a few weeks ago I was walking to out mailbox when I noticed my beautiful roses were starting to become overgrown with weeds. It looked like the white and pink flowers that were blooming were struggling to stand tall and grow strong against the weeds. I knew at that moment I had to bear the heat outside and get to work. As I started to sweat up a storm, I thought,”God, I hate weeding.” It was then the Lord showed me that what I was doing at that very moment was what He wanted to do for His children. I believe it’s so easy for us as christians to fall stagnant in our walk with God. Being saved is a beautiful thing, and although we may have ourselves planted in the right environment of a 100% Bible believing, hell chasing, God praising church, we can still be overgrown with “weeds” if we don’t separate ourselves from the world. 2 Corinthians 10:3-5 says: “For though we walk in the flesh, we do not war after the flesh: (For the weapons of our warfare are not carnal, but mighty through God to the pulling down of strong holds;)
Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ.” My friends, we shouldn’t walk in or lust after the desires of the things of this world. I’m not saying that it’s a sin to want or have nice things, but if that becomes your priority over Christ, that would be wherein your problem lies. You are precious to God, and having people who are not Christ-minded that could plant a seed of desire of the things of the world in your heart and mind is not something He wants for us. If you will go back and look at verse 5, it tells us we should cast down every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God. What is an example of such a thing? Anyone and or anything that puts you in a compromising situation which goes against something God has specifically told you to do or not to do, or anyone or anything that goes against His Holy Word. And if it’s going against God, you know it’s coming from the enemy. I am going to take down the curtains here, be completely honest with ya’ll, and let you take a look around in my life for a few minutes. God has been doing some SERIOUS weeding in my life. He is showing me the things and people who satan has used to try to choke out and over grow His beautiful plans and works in my life, and He has pulled them right out. Some of the weeding that He has done as been so painful, but as soon as the weeds were gone He began to grow and bless my life in ways I’ve never known. God is also showing me that different kinds of weeds will always try to grow and make their way into places where He intends to make Himself fully known, so weeding is a constant process. We have to weed out people and things even when we don’t want to or the circumstances are so harsh we don’t know if we can make it. So I pose this question, is God’s will fully blooming in your life or do you have weeds trying to choke them out? In the end, no matter how painful, the removal of anything that hinders His movement is worth the cost.

In His Love,
Mimi

About mimismomentoftruth

The Ladd Family is an anointed family ministry with strong christian roots. They began more than 35 years ago when John and Violet Ladd felt the call of God on their lives to travel singing and preaching the gospel with their children. Today, the family tradition carries on with their son Paul and his wife Melissa. Their testimony is one of God's faithfulness and the ability to use willing vessels to do the impossible. From instantaneous physical healings to salvation, God has been using them to move in a supernatural way all across the nation. With three Diamond Award nominations under their belt, their debut single, "Let Go," #1 on the Southern Gospel Times charts, and performances to thousands, God is raising them up as they continue to raise Him up.

Leave a Reply

